Habiba Fora

Feb 24, 2017

Mombasa, Kenya

Mombasa County

Mombasa County is one of the 47 Counties of Kenya. It’s located at coordinates 4.0396° S, 39.6534° E. It is the smallest county in Kenya, covering an area of 229.7 km2 excluding 65 km2 of water mass. The county is situated in the South Eastern part of the former Coast Province. It borders Kilifi County to the North, Kwale County to the South West and the Indian Ocean to the East.
According to the 2009 Kenya Population and Housing Census, its population was 939,370 people comprising of 486,924 males and 452,446 females with a population density of 4,292 people per Km2. The county’s literacy levels have been greatly affected by drug abuse and the al shabab radicalization of youth. A majority of youth have not made it beyond standard eight. Despite this fact, Mombasa has several institutions of higher learning most of whose students come from other counties. The county’s low literacy levels are at 91% for males and 81% for females (Kenya Economic survey 2013).
Mombasa County